Under the Tuscan Sun

Jean Oshima
2 min readJul 22, 2017

--

Yes I know it’s a chick flick. But come on now, how can you deny Under the Tuscan Sun is a great movie. There’s a story, there’s a great cast and good acting, there’s scenery, and it was filmed in 12 different locations around Italy including Positano, Rome, and various locales in stunningly beautiful Tuscany.

Diane Lane

I have seen this movie 3 times, most recently at a sweet old theater in Franklin, Tennessee (another 5 Heart Rating coming later). I could see it again. And again. I love everything Diane Lane does and I am sure we could be friends in real life. lol The rest of the cast including Sandra Oh, Raoul Bova, Lindsay Duncan, Vincent Riotta, Pawel Szajda (I was especially drawn to Szajda’s character being that he is Polish both on and off screen), and so many others, I believe could not have been more perfectly cast. Even Kate Walsh’s performance, although minimal, was just right.

And here’s a little tidbit of information I found that I did not know until just now — you can actually stay in the villa where the movie was filmed. For about $20,000-$30,000 per week. It has 10 rooms. Here’s a link to reserve your dream vacation:

Until you embark on your journey to Tuscany if you haven’t seen this movie, try to see it on the biggest screen possible to get the full benefit of the amazing cinematography.

--

--

Jean Oshima

See my blog, 5 Heart Rating at http://jeanoshima.com I am a Wellness & Wine and Special Events Producer