Sanders Dark Chocolate Sea Salt Caramels

Jean Oshima
2 min readJan 27, 2019

--

As an early teen my best friend in Florida was from Michigan and always talked about Sanders (pronounced saun-ders) hot fudge. I was a bit of a hot fudge sundae freak so she was very excited to share a jar she had gotten from a friend visiting from Michigan. (At the time you could only get it in Michigan. Like Coors beer around the same time.)

So when I found Sanders Dark Chocolate Sea Salt Caramels at Costco I had to try them. And as expected, like the hot fudge sauce, they were delicious! This huge canister is only sold at Costco seasonally and I have found it on sale every time I bought them.

So here’s just part of the reason these caramels get a 5 Heart Rating. I am a caramel freak. I don’t buy caramel sauce. I make my own. And I make my own caramel corn which I call Jeanie’s Crack Corn. I’ve made homemade pralines which is basically just caramel cooked to a different temperature, and I have made my own caramel candies. So I’m kinda picky when it comes to caramels. To me there are few things more delicious than a fresh home-made caramel anything!

Another part of the reason I’m blogging about these particular caramels is because my daughter brought me one single dark chocolate sea salt caramel from her recent trip to Michigan. I don’t know what she paid for that one single candy, but I’m sure it was more than a dollar and likely two. I swear that caramel is the exact same caramel I bought in the giant canister for $8 bucks at Costco!

So if you’re a dark chocolate and caramel fan like me, next time you visit Costco see if they have them or better yet, ask about them and see if and when they will get them in stock.

I have used these same caramels in brownies. I simply pour the brownie batter into a muffin cup and place one caramel (a half if I’m getting low) and bake. Oh my!!!

If you can’t wait to get these yummy treats at Costco you can buy them online here too. You’ll pay more but even at this price it’s well worth it!

https://www.sanderscandy.com/dark-chocolate-sea-salt-caramel-tub-28oz.html

WARNING: Do not buy from Amazon. They are not fresh!!

--

--

Jean Oshima

See my blog, 5 Heart Rating at http://jeanoshima.com I am a Wellness & Wine and Special Events Producer