Furoshiki (Cloth-wrapping)

Jean Oshima
2 min readDec 23, 2018

--

I want to start a trend. Well sort of. The “trend” I’d like to start actually dates back to the Nara period (early 700s) in Japan. Furoshiki, the Japanese traditional art of wrapping gifts, or really just about anything, in cloth, is one of the best takeaways from my experience with the culture. I have been wrapping things in furoshiki for about 35 years and have to say it is one of the most clever practices ever. Leave it to the Japanese to come up with it.

Furoshiki of course has been practiced for centuries, way before all the problems we are now experiencing causing the need to recylce, but that is definitely one of the benefits.

I recently used furoshiki to transport and 8-lb casserole to a party. When tied properly, a lit is not going anywhere no matter your driving skills. Also, a gift can be wrapped in furoshiki which then becomes essentially 3 gifts — 1) the gift itself, 2) the beautiful furoshiki to keep, and 3) the gift of learning something new that you can start practicing right away.

There are many videos you can watch to get the idea of furoshiki and to learn numerous ways to wrap a cloth but here are a couple I think you will enjoy.

Just as a side note, those old scarves or pieces of cloth you have laying around that you never use, you will never see the same way again. Start using them now! Your gift recipients will be amazed. The presentation can be stunning! I’m a wrapping and folding freak so I especially appreciate this practice and think it definitely deserves a 5 Heart Rating!

--

--

Jean Oshima

See my blog, 5 Heart Rating at http://jeanoshima.com I am a Wellness & Wine and Special Events Producer