Can’t Hurt Me, by David Goggins (Audible Version)

Jean Oshima
2 min readJan 4, 2019

--

So here it is the new year and I just happen upon a book I can hardly put down. For personal reasons this book is one of the best I have ever read. Likely due to the timing of it, I am only halfway through it and although it’s only been a couple days, I already know I will “read” it again.

As per usual with books I give a 5 Heart Rating, I say “read” it because I don’t actually read books anymore. I only listen to them on Audible. This book is not only no exception but I also highly recommend you hear it on Audible because 1) the narration by New York Times author Adam Skolnick is excellent, and 2) the Audible version is an annotated edition with over two hours of bonus content featuring deeper insights and never-before-told stories shared by David himself (like a podcast conversation). This is not available in other formats and is the best part about this book in the Audible version.

Only one other book has impacted me like Can’t Hurt Me, and that’s Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand, the biography of Louis Zamperini. Like Zamperini, Goggins endured unthinkable experiences throughout his life. I truly cannot decide who had it tougher. Without giving anything away, I will say Goggins, through self-discipline, mental toughness, and hard work, transformed himself from a depressed, overweight young man with no future into a US Armed Forces icon. And much much more. He is the only human being to have completed elite training as a Navy SEAL, Army Ranger, and Air Force Tactical Air Controller. Yep, you heard that right.

If you think you had or have it rough and don’t feel you are living your best life self, read this book. Better yet, much better, listen to it on Audible!

Just as a side note, I have “read” about 100 books on Audible and I have never seen anything like the reaction to Goggins’ book. 12,000 reviews in just a month with a rating of 4.9 stars. I’m pretty sure that’s a record he can add to his world record for most pull-ups in 24 hours — 4,025 in just 17 hours. (Coincidentally he accomplished this feat just down the road from where I live!)

I mention Audible (another 5 Heart Rating) a lot here so if you have any questions about it or how it works, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

--

--

Jean Oshima

See my blog, 5 Heart Rating at http://jeanoshima.com I am a Wellness & Wine and Special Events Producer