Bishop Gunn

Jean Oshima
3 min readJun 14, 2018

--

L27 Rooftop Lounge at Westin Nashville PC: Emi Oshima

What a nice surprise to happen upon a great new band!

I have been beyond fortunate to have seen many of what I consider the greats of all time live in concert. In no particular order and some multiple times: Michael Jackson, The Eagles, One Republic, Brett Eldredge, Rod Stewart, George Benson, B.B. King, Joe Williams, Louie Bellson, Andrea Bocelli, Lindsey Stirling, James Taylor, Boston, Blood, Sweat & Tears, Ingrid Michelson, James Arthur, Bonnie Raitt, Pink, Justin Timberlake, Trombone Shorty, Boz Skaggs, Hiroshima, Jackson Browne, Charlie Byrd, Fleetwood Mac (the entire original group), Rob Thomas, Missy Andersen, The Doobie Brothers, and Lynyrd Skynyrd (original with Ronnie Van Zant and Steve Gaines) to name a few. Even got to meet MJ, Michael McDonald, Missy Andersen, Louie Bellson, Joe Willams, and Ronnie Van Zant. All extremely gracious, kind human beings.

I am not the starstruck type and can’t say I have put much effort toward following any particular artist or band, with the exception of Michael Jackson since I consider him the greatest performer of all time. I’ve been so fortunate to have been exposed to so much great music. From swing to rap to blues to rock n roll to opera to reggae to (some) country — I love it all! I am so excited for Bishop Gunn. They deserve every accolade for their talent, their generosity, and their kindness toward their fans and the community from which they originate — Natchez, Mississippi.

So to say I was thrilled we had the opportunity to chat for just a bit with Travis McCready of Bishop Gunn just before he took the stage the other night would be an understatement. Not surprisingly, he was gracious, extremely polite and a great conversationalist.

A bit of fate with a dash of timing has allowed me the opportunity to see this great new band 4 times in the past several months and 3 times in just one month! They were the highlight for me at the Pilgrimage Music Festival in Franklin, Tennessee last year and I found them again at their album release party at Franklin Theatre just last month.

Their new album is beyond good. It hit the Billboard charts and was featured by Rolling Stone magazine as soon as it came out. Recently someone asked me which song they should listen to as a sample and I found myself recommending a long list which was pretty much the entire album! I also highly recommend watching the short documentary and the Shine video on their website. I think they are both award-worthy! Just click on links below.

Above Nashville at L27 PC: Emi Oshima

Which brings me to another 5 Heart Rating I will get to later — Natchez! What a great city!! My daughter and I hit the road and drove to Natchez for the first annual (I hope) Bishop Gunn Crawfish Festival and had an absolute blast. We almost didn’t go but fate intervened and we ended up going and staying for a few days, right on the Mississippi River in a beautiful historic antebellum home, dined at local restaurants and food trucks, enjoyed great convos with the people of Natchez, and walked 3 minutes to the festival. More on Natchez later…

Here are links to their awesome website and those amazing vids I mentioned:

--

--

Jean Oshima

See my blog, 5 Heart Rating at http://jeanoshima.com I am a Wellness & Wine and Special Events Producer